A bed and a pillow to rest my head…. would that I were that easy to please!

Once upon a time, there was a little boy who conquered his parents’ bed and never left.  The End.

Ever since little r was born, he’s firmly placed himself in our bed.  Given that he’s taken after TsampaPapa in the way he likes to sleep (read as: a big time mover and likes his space so he can sleep diagonally across the bed, if you please), that has meant that TsampaPapa has become very familiar with the couch infront of the television.  Granted this also has a lot to do with TsampaPapa’s preference of watching TV in bed but nonetheless, little r loves to snuggle up to me and no amount of coaxing, cajoling or flat out begging can convince him to move.  Something had to give.  Enter the King size bed.

A great bed is something that I have been fantasizing about for a while.  It started with plain lusting after the Mendocino bed at Pottery barn when I was a young lass of 22 – yes, even then I had a strong affinity for Pottery Barn and other champagne luxuries that I couldn’t afford on my zinfandel budget.   Then I started dreaming about the Four Seasons Hotel’s  Stearns and Foster mattress but couldn’t justify it.  And now finally, I have a legitimate reason to invest in a good bed.  Because that’s what it is – an investment.  After all, we do spend at least a third of our lives in bed.  And dang it all, am I or am I not a grown up now, entitled to some nice things like a full night’s sleep?  So off we went to shop and many months later (TsampaPapa and I have differing tastes in firmness – of course we do) our mattress, a top of the line Simmons Beautyrest is arriving today, sometime between 12 and 6 pm!  Yay!  I am so super excited.

Now, it is a universally acknowledged fact that a good mattress must be showcased by a nice bedframe (at least it is in my universe).  That set me fantasizing and that soon took me to Pinterest.  Have I told you about my love of Pinterest, no?  Good.  It would take hours!  Of course, I started a board on Pinterest and before I knew it, bed ideas turned into bedROOM ideas – we’re talking sheets and shams, coverlets and curtains, rugs and plants, and light fixtures and lamps, and heaven help us all, themes!  I love this stuff – no, I LURVE this stuff.

Ever since we came back from Martha’s Vineyard, I have been fantasizing about living by the water – actually, if I think about it, it started even before that.  It started when I started considering Victoria BC as a place to potentially move to some day.  SOME day, people – no cause for excitement yet- for one, there are hardly any jobs out there!  Anyway, location is hardly something to stop me thinking about decor.   I’ve always loved Coastal style (think of the house in the film “Something’s Gotta Give” and Ina Garten’s house in the Hamptons) and Colonial style (India Hicks minus too many non-functional cotchkas) and tend to like my furniture Transitional.  And now that we’ve moved to the third floor and constructed a walk-out deck (I know, I have a lot to catch you up on!), it’s only making me think of all the different way’s I’d like to design my space.  I have fabric that I’ve been hoarding for the last five years.   A new bed-size means new linens and if you’re buying new linens and so on, you may as well go whole hog and have a theme.  Plus the B-ugly (that’s Butt Ugly, folks) green blinds that have been stabbing my eyeballs for the last 3 years just have to go.   And the carpet – oh the mud brown, shag-worn down, carpet that’s on the whole house – but I’m getting ahead of myself.  Priorities.  I have to prioritize because while I may have moved from a zinfandel budget to a pinot grigio budget – the taste is still champagne!  I may not get it all done but whatever I do get done will be a victory.

More to come but for now, feast your eyes on this.  Guess which one’s the Mendocino!

Leave a Reply

