On Happiness

Of late, I’ve been thinking a lot about happiness – about how to be happier and how to make those around me and those I love more happy. And then this morning, I opened up my inbox to find a forward by Uncle KN which pretty much sums it up. Here’s an excerpt:

“Happiness does not come through destiny, one has to work for it. If you give goodness, you get back goodness. One should take care of Thoughts as they make the word. Take care of words as they result in Action. Be careful about actions as they become Habits. Habits build up your Character. That determines your Destiny and hence your Life.” H.H. 14th Dalai Lama

I find that I am more impatient, more critical both of myself and others – and ironically more defensive, more stressed, more attached than I want to be or would like to think I am. I don’t see people I care about as often as I’d like. I don’t keep in touch with friends and family by phone or email as much as I’d like. I don’t even sing as much as I used to. Yikes! Time for a change.

As I see it in my anal rententive mind, there are four steps to rectifying a problem:

  1. recognition
  2. acceptance
  3. solutions
  4. maintaining the changes

Two down – two to go.

I also started to think about what makes me happy. Here’re a few:

  • Tea in bed
  • Warm pajamas from the dryer
  • Curling up with a good book and a cup of tea on a cold, wet day (what is it about those days that beg for a good book?)
  • After a long winter, stepping out of the house without a down jacket, hat, gloves & scarf for the first time
  • Fresh flowers – orange tulips if I were being fussy
  • A good chocolate cake and cold milk
  • A good laugh over the past with friends/family
  • Watching people enjoy something I made/did for them – food, crafts, birthday cakes etc.
  • Family traditions
  • Starting and finishing a project (it’s the middle part that’s hard)
  • Singing with a group and playing guitar to some nostalgic, half-remembered song
  • Not having to be the responsible/sensible one
  • Little r

What makes you happy?

4 thoughts on “On Happiness

  1. Am I the first commenter?? Love reading these updates, Achala, keep them going! Here's what makes me happy :)- Fridays, esp when it's sunny..TGIF!!- Curling up on the couch with a good movie and a hot bowl of something yummy- Dressing up for a night out- A clean apartment- Getting picked up from work- Buying new makeup- Getting my "spot" on the train (sideways, by the wall)- DESSERT (anytime, any kind)XOX yangchen

  2. *hi Yangchen*Thanks for commenting! While you are not the first (one person beat you to it), it feels good to know that somewhere out there,someone is reading my scribbles.I love all your "what makes me happy"s! Speaking of new make up I just splurged on my very first Chanel product – a lipstick in a colour that pops:) I feel so grown up and chic. Like I said in my post a few days ago, for whatever reason, I'm on a french kick and channeling (or should I say Chanel-ing) all things French.

  3. Hi Yishey C la,This is very interesting- my first exposure to blog.It's sunday morning here and Ashangla and I enjoyed reading your blog. We specially love to see Rigden's pictures and read about him. Like all his grand aunts and uncles, we are in love with him. Do keep writing…we will be checking it every sunday. Love, Seattle mama.

  4. Seattle mama – If you're reading this on Sunday, Happy Mothers Day! It was lovely to have a comment from you. I hope you make this a habit as it definitely gives me motivation to continue blogging 🙂 xoxoy.

Leave a comment